The End of the World? Nah.

I didn’t plan to just jump right in for my first post, I planned to explain who I am and why I’m doing this, but after a few days of being snowed in, and not being able to actually jump because I’m injured, I figured why not just go for it. So here it goes, the start of me sharing my funny, wacky, and dramatic adventures in running, teaching and my daily life.

During my four years as an undergrad at Boston College, I became swept up in the hype of Marathon Monday, wore cheesy t-shirts and lined Commonwealth Ave with 2000 classmates to cheer and take part in festivities.  I was awestruck by those first runners, moving so quickly their feet barely touched the ground, with focus and determination I could see from the sidelines.  Fast forward a few years, and I was ready to be a Boston Marathoner, certainly not one of the first runners, but hopefully someone who would cross the finish line at some point on Marathon Monday. I found an awesome charity to fundraise for, had a great first long run, and BAM! Shin splints hit me like a ton of bricks.

I felt the dull ache in my legs and began to feel the well-known twinges as I walked around the school on Thursday. Okay, I thought, I’ll take advantage of the blizzard and do low-impact training at the gym.  Waking up this morning, I could feel the pain in my shins before I even stood up.  I didn’t understand why this was happening, I ice, stretch, cross-train and strength train–and STILL get shin splints?  Long story short, unveiling my grumpy side did nothing, other than scare off my poor roommate, oh and lead my dad to Skype me “because he was bored.” Love my dad, but those words were not helpful at a crisis time like this.

8 hours ago, I was feeling like this was it, my marathon chances were done and I might as well mope until April 15 because I certainly wouldn’t be running. Thank goodness for running friends and mentors.  Many texts later, I was feeling a little better, but still couldn’t shake the fear that I had a stress fracture.  All my guilt over the money donated on my behalf, the fees my family had already paid for me to run was still there, and my shin still hurt. 5 plus hours shoveling yesterday, digging out my car and falling into snow banks probably didn’t help–thanks Nemo.

And then it hit me. This isn’t the end of the world. I don’t know if I have a stress fracture, but I do know that I can rest, ice, stretch and strength train in the meantime until I get to a doctor. I can research compression socks, order them and actually wear them-embracing the little girl wearing knee highs look. Anyone who looks twice, this is way way better than dealing with shin splints.

Another snow day tomorrow, another break from the kiddos I love, and another chance to do what I can, move forward, and figure out a way to get my body healthy so I can run in 8 weeks. The world isn’t ending, and I can figure this out and make it work–a few throwback dance parties with the roommates might help too.

What is your “end of the world” situation right now?

Leave a Reply

