Taking a Rest and Feeling Grateful

I planned to write about the awesome new crockpot recipe I tested out on my roommate last night, and I will, but not tonight.  Amidst all the balls I have in the air right now, today was a reminder for me to think about who I have in my life and what I need to be grateful for.  Driving to work this morning, I was feeling ready for the week ahead and to see the 21 smiling faces I love so much. And I did. And they cracked me up as they do every day. My personal favorite of the day was one of my boys doing “the shuffle” as we walked out of the cafeteria. No inhibition and a bashful smile plastered on his face as he lead the line and danced his way down the hall. Rock on buddy.

Throughout the day today I heard several pieces of sad news, including a horrible tragedy in my hometown and a family friends illness. I know everyone always says “someone always has it worse than you” but it is true. Rather than dwell on the negative, which is my automatic response, I am going to make an effort to focus on what I have to be thankful for.  I get to RUN A MARATHON in my city in 6 weeks–bring it Boston! I have a healthy family, brothers who are rocking it at their respective schools and an Easter weekend full of food, baskets and a world-class egg hunt (I am sadly only a spectator now that I’m a “grown-up) to look forward to. I am lucky. For now, I am grateful for a comfy couch to sprawl out on while I type this, a day that will hopefully include “the shuffle” or Gangnam style dance moves tomorrow, and grapes freezing for my dessert, or post-dessert since I’ve already eaten too many chocolate chip cookies.

After a few days of tough workouts and pushing myself, I’m grateful for a rest day tomorrow. I am going to stretch, ice, and rest. At least until Wednesday.  Enjoy what you have, who you have, and this peaceful snowy scene from my drive to work last week.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

