Compression Sock Voodoo

In the past week, I’ve done a very good job at getting my workouts in. I’m attributing this part-nicer weather and part stress. When I’m stressed, I need to workout to feel better. And then eat large amounts of food, which in the past few days has meant binge-eating Swedish Fish. Candy=my weakness.  Anyways, I’ve been trying to get more running in while keeping other things-like hot yoga and cross-training, which are equally important to keeping myself a healthy runner.

Since Saturday weather wasn’t great, and I had run on Friday, I decided to push my weekend run to Sunday. I’m so used to “Saturday long runs” from marathon training that this definitely felt a bit weird, but Sunday morning I woke up ready to run. Until I walked outside into the drizzle. For an accident-prone person like me, running the rain means a strong likelihood of slipping and falling. Since I occasionally fall walking up stairs in my apartment, I wasn’t about to risk slipping on a public sidewalk! My solution was the treadmill, and the treadmill and I have a very love-hate relationship. I threw these amazing new socks on and got moving.

ImageMy plan was 4 miles, and I was going to allow a walking break because the treadmill is that painfully boring for me. I was stunned when I made it to 5 miles. As in, that’s the farthest I’ve ever run on the revolving belt of death (it’s not that terrible I suppose but nothing compares to outside). I was seriously proud. That small accomplishment gave me a little confidence in the insane decision I made Saturday morning…I’m signed up for the Fairfield Half Marathon on June 23. I figure after making it 5 miles, what’s 8.1 more?! Slightly crazy, I know, but running it with my friend will make it all worth it. I’ll just have to make sure I don’t get too excited participating in “Hopscotch Around the World” in  first grade P.E. and hurt myself

Have a wonderful start to the week! Trying to figure out a way to fit in a run tomorrow, and what color socks I’ll wear…though no matter what, the color of my face after a run draws the eye away from my brightly colored socks 😉

Image

One thought on “Compression Sock Voodoo

Leave a Reply

