If you’re gonna teach fourth grade, you need to know that!

This blog has always been a place for me to share stories from teaching, running adventures and cooking experiments…and okay, it has also hosted the occasional pity party. I thought that once the school year ended I’d find more time and inspiration for blogging, and slowly but surely I am. The last month has been hectic, but isn’t every month hectic, in at least one way, for everyone? The high point of June was finally landing a teaching job. A fantastic one at that-fourth grade! I was immediately excited and overwhelmed by the 2013-2014 school year, and it still doesn’t seem real to me. I think Judy Blume wrote Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing, and apparently I’ll be writing Tales of a First Year Fourth Grade Teacher πŸ˜‰

The close of the school year, the never-ending saga of packing my life into my car, avoiding unpacking my life at home and having to leap over heaping duffel bags into bed at night. I swear I’m organized, just have clean out and donate-add that to the to-do list.

In my quest to avoid giant duffel bags, I’ve been hanging with some very cool members of the 10-and-under crowd and learning some important life lessons. #1 Learn to spell Volkswagen without hesitation. In an intense round of Logo Quiz (I don’t spend my free time playing this-but maybe I should), I hesitated to spell Volkswagen, and a 6 year old spectator informed me “if you’re gonna teach fourth grade, you need to know that!” Forget studying curriculum and national standards this summer, I need to watch more TV and learn my logos!

Lesson #2-I need to get a rainbow loom. Something that occupies kids’ time and helps you make jewelry? Win. If only I had come up with the idea of weaving and connecting tiny multi-colored rubber bands. In all honesty, I definitely need some practice with it, but until then I have gifts from my favorite jewelry designers πŸ™‚

photo

I know that the month holds many more lessons for me, which I will definitely have to share.

In running news (or maybe lack-of-running news) I got out for the first time in a month on Saturday AND didn’t collapse! PT starts tomorrow for my shin/calf/sucky leg, so my fingers are crossed that it works the miracles it did last time. Alright, time to go watch some TV so I can memorize spellings of company names!

One thought on “If you’re gonna teach fourth grade, you need to know that!

Leave a Reply

