Keep Calm and Organize On

Moving was not nearly as bad as I thought it was going to be, though I’m not sure what I would’ve done without the gift of movers from my parents. Moving large pieces of furniture isn’t pretty to begin with, but moving them into a third floor walk-up is a whole other ballgame! I was able to get unpacked and settled pretty quickly, and LOVE the new place. Amazing location, nice space and great roommates, and the gentle rumbling of the T going by every few minutes. And by gentle I mean so loud you can’t hear the TV when it goes by 😉

Organizing and decorating a new space gave me the chance to declutter a bit, and I think I’ve been fairly successful (if I forget that 75% of my clothes are still in my parents’ house). Here’s a look at my bedroom:

ImageExcuse the clutter on my dresser…it is being moved momentarily! My favorite part of my new room are these shelves that my dad/Mr. Fix-It measured and installed:

ImageIn continuing with my organization frenzy, I’ve tried to develop a filing system for paperwork of my own. I hoped to find an awesome printed file box, but ended up settling for a clear one from Staples. My goal is to use it to hold files for 1.School district paperwork 2. Healthcare information 3. Apartment lease and bills 4. Receipts and other finance things….we’ll see how it goes but I’m optimistic I will keep things organized (as much as I can).

As a disclaimer, at least in my situation, organization comes with a price tag, many trips to Target, TJ Maxx and Homegoods and the occasional fight with power tools. Never a dull moment!

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday–organizing, planning for the week, and relaxing. Oh, and here’s a close-up of this canvas I found (on a NECESSARY shopping trip) that has lots of positive reminders 🙂

Image

What’s your favorite part about moving into a new space? decorating?

Any successful organization systems you like?

Leave a Reply

